Choosing a gel lamp comes down to two questions: what your gel's instructions say about curing, and what has to fit under the light. This guide compares four UV/LED nail lamps for home gel users on the specs their makers publish, and says plainly when a spec isn't published.

Still putting your setup together? The checklist of everything you need for gel nails at home covers the rest.

Quick picks

Compare the lamps side by side

The table lines up what each maker publishes. Where a cell says "not stated," the manufacturer doesn't publish that spec.

UV/LED nail lamps compared by manufacturer specs
LampBest forWavelength (as stated)Timer settingsStartHand & foot fitPowerGel brand cure guidanceLink
SUNUV SUN2CBeginners365 + 405 nm10 / 30 / 60 s + longer low-heat settingInfrared auto-startFull hand; removable base for feetCorded (power adapter included)None; follow your gel's instructionsView on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
Gelish 18G PlusFull-size; Gelish usersNot statedPresets incl. 60 s Comfort Cure rampMotion sensorFull hand; removable tray for feetCordedGelish gel times written for its 18G LED lightView on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
Gelish 18G UnpluggedCordless full-sizeNot statedPresets incl. 60 s Comfort Cure rampMotion sensorFull hand; removable tray for feetRechargeable, replaceable lithium battery (capacity not stated)Gelish lists its gel cure times for this lampView on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
OPI GELement (fingers-only)Fingers-only compactNot statedOne fixed 60 s cureButton4 fingers; thumbs separately; not for feetUSB (wall charger: check)OPI GELement: 60 s per coat in this lampView on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
Specs from each manufacturer's published documentation, checked Sep 30, 2026. "Not stated" means the maker doesn't publish it. Wattage isn't listed because it measures power draw, not curing ability.

The best UV/LED nail lamps for gel at home

Each card covers who the lamp suits, the specs its maker publishes and where it falls short.

Beginner pick

SUNUV SUN2C UV LED Nail Lamp

Best for Beginners and pedicure users whose gel gives generic "UV/LED lamp" cure times and who want a full-hand lamp with a removable base.

Key specs

  • Wavelengths: 365 nm and 405 nm, per SUNUV (33 LED beads)
  • Infrared sensor starts the lamp when a hand goes in
  • Timer presets of 10, 30 and 60 seconds, plus a longer low-heat setting
  • Magnetic base lifts out so a foot fits under the lamp
  • Corded; SUNUV lists a power adapter, manual and gel guide in the box
  • No fan; SUNUV says the lamp lowers its power after 20 minutes of continuous use

The SUN2C earns the beginner label on simple features: it switches on when a hand goes in, has a few presets plus a low-heat option, and works for hands and feet. It isn't tied to one gel brand, and it's the only lamp here whose maker publishes its wavelengths, which gives you a number to check against your gel's instructions. Intertek's ETL directory lists the SUN2C model as evaluated to UL 1727, the US standard for commercial electric personal grooming appliances (checked Sep 30, 2026).

SUNUV doesn't write cure times for any particular gel, so the times come from your gel's own instructions. SUNUV's pages also disagree on how long the low-heat setting runs and on the warranty term, so those numbers are left out here; check the manual that ships with the lamp. Builder-gel users should first check that their gel's instructions suit an LED lamp at these wavelengths.

Pros

  • The only pick here that publishes its wavelengths (365 and 405 nm)
  • Auto-start sensor, so curing begins without pressing a button
  • Simple presets plus a low-heat setting
  • Removable base for feet
  • Not tied to one gel brand's instructions

Cons

  • Not brand-matched, so cure times must come from your gel
  • SUNUV's own pages disagree on some details (low-heat timer length, warranty term)
  • Interior size not published

Full-size pick

Gelish 18G Plus LED Light with Comfort Cure

Best for Gelish gel users, and anyone in the Gelish system, who want a full-size, corded lamp for gel polish or builder work on hands and feet.

Key specs

  • LED lamp, corded
  • Comfort Cure: a 60-second setting that raises power gradually instead of starting at full power
  • Preset timers, including the 60-second Comfort Cure setting
  • Motion sensor start and a digital countdown display
  • Removable magnetic tray for pedicures
  • Acetone-resistant finish
  • 1-year warranty, per Gelish

Gelish writes the cure steps for its gel polish around its 18G LED light: 5 seconds for Foundation base gel and 30 seconds for each coat of color and top coat, with longer times listed for a UV light. If you use Gelish gels, this lamp lets you follow the brand's steps as written. Gelish says Comfort Cure is designed to reduce heat spikes. Check that you're buying from an authorized seller so the manufacturer's warranty applies.

The limits are mostly about missing information. Gelish doesn't publish a wavelength for this lamp, and its own materials don't agree on the full list of timer presets, so only the 60-second Comfort Cure setting is named here. Gelish's cure times cover Gelish products; for another brand's gel, follow that brand's instructions. If you mix brands and don't need Gelish's steps, the SUN2C covers the same hand-and-foot format.

Pros

  • Gelish writes its cure times for its 18G light, so Gelish users can follow the brand's steps directly
  • Ramped Comfort Cure setting (Gelish says it is designed to reduce heat spikes)
  • Removable tray for feet
  • Motion sensor and countdown display
  • 1-year warranty stated by Gelish

Cons

  • No published wavelength
  • Full preset list not consistent across Gelish materials
  • Cure times for other brands' gels aren't covered by Gelish
  • Corded

Cordless full-size pick

Gelish 18G Unplugged High Performance LED Light

Best for Gelish users and experienced at-home users who want a full-size lamp without a cord at the table.

Key specs

  • Cordless; runs on a rechargeable lithium battery (Gelish names LG cells) that can be removed and replaced
  • The backlit Gelish logo changes color to show remaining charge
  • Comfort Cure: the same 60-second ramped setting as the 18G Plus
  • Preset timers, motion sensor and countdown timer
  • Built-in carry handle
  • Removable magnetic tray for pedicures
  • 1-year warranty, per Gelish

This is Gelish's full-size, five-finger lamp in a battery-powered version. Gelish's product page for the Unplugged lists the same cure times for Foundation base gel, gel color and top coat as its gel instructions give for the 18G light, so Gelish users can follow the brand's steps with either lamp. Gelish also describes an Intelligent Power Assist feature, which it says keeps power levels consistent when the lamp runs on battery.

The main gap is battery data: Gelish doesn't publish capacity, runtime or charge time, so there's no way to know from the spec sheet how many manicures one charge covers. There's no published wavelength either. For someone doing an occasional manicure at home, a cordless full-size lamp is more lamp than the job needs; the corded 18G Plus or the SUN2C covers the same hand-and-foot format.

Pros

  • Full-size, full-hand lamp with no cord at the table
  • Gelish says the battery can be removed and replaced
  • Battery-level indicator
  • Comfort Cure ramp
  • Removable tray for feet
  • Built-in handle

Cons

  • Battery capacity and runtime not published
  • No published wavelength
  • Preset list not consistent across Gelish materials
  • More lamp than an occasional home user needs

Fingers-only compact pick

OPI GELement LED Gel Lamp

Best for OPI GELement users who want a compact, fingers-only lamp (thumbs cured separately; not for feet).

Key specs

  • Fingers-only: a 4-finger opening, with the thumb cured on its own
  • One button starts a fixed 60-second cure; no other timer settings
  • Button start (OPI doesn't list a sensor)
  • USB-powered: OPI says to plug the included USB cable into a standard USB wall charger
  • Mirrored interior; acetone-resistant, per OPI

OPI's GELement instructions have you cure each coat for 60 seconds in this lamp, four fingers first and then the thumb. For anyone already using GELement gel, or planning to, that makes it the simplest match in this guide: one button, one time, no settings to choose. Check the product label and instructions for age and use restrictions before use.

The trade-offs follow from the design. Every coat takes two cures per hand, there's no way to fit a foot, and the single fixed timer is set to OPI's own 60-second GELement steps, so gels with other cure instructions aren't covered. OPI doesn't publish a wavelength. The lamp also needs a USB power source, so check whether you already own a wall charger. If you want all five fingers in at once or plan to do your toes, one of the full-size lamps above is the better fit.

Pros

  • One button and one fixed time, matched to OPI's own GELement instructions
  • Compact
  • USB power allows flexible placement (it still needs a USB power source)

Cons

  • Fingers only: thumbs need a separate cure
  • No foot use
  • Single fixed 60-second timer; gels with other cure instructions aren't covered
  • No published wavelength
  • A wall charger may need to be bought separately

Which lamp fits your gel and setup

Match the lamp to your gel first, then to the way you do your nails.

If your gel brand names a lamp

Gelish writes its gel cure times for its 18G LED light, and OPI's GELement instructions call for curing in the GELement lamp. If you use either system, the matching lamp lets you follow the brand's steps without guessing. Many other gels give generic "UV/LED lamp" times instead; for those, the SUN2C is the pick that isn't tied to one brand and the only one here that publishes its wavelengths. Whichever lamp you choose, follow your gel's cure instructions. If a coat still feels tacky after the full cure time, see the guide to gel that's still tacky after curing.

If you use builder gel or soft gel tips

Builder gel and soft gel tips need every finger under the light, and their cure times vary by brand and product, so the timer has to match the gel's own instructions. The three full-size lamps take all five fingers and offer several presets, plus the SUN2C's low-heat setting and the Gelish lamps' 60-second Comfort Cure ramp. The OPI, with its 4-finger opening and single fixed timer, is a poor fit for this work. Whatever the lamp, follow the builder gel's own cure instructions; with the SUN2C, check that the gel suits an LED lamp at 365 and 405 nm. Still choosing a gel? See builder gel kits for beginners.

If you do pedicures

Three of the four lamps let a foot under the light: the SUN2C's magnetic base lifts out, and both Gelish lamps have a removable magnetic tray. The OPI GELement lamp has a 4-finger opening and no removable base, so it stays a fingers-only lamp. That leaves the SUN2C for gels with generic lamp times, or a Gelish lamp for Gelish gel.

If you'd rather skip the cord

The Gelish 18G Unplugged is the only full-size cordless lamp here, with the same five-finger, hand-and-foot format as the 18G Plus. Smaller battery and flash-cure lamps are a separate category, covered in cordless and mini nail lamps.

Specs to check before you buy

A short checklist for comparing any lamp, including ones not in this guide:

  • Your gel's lamp instructions. The gel maker's cure guidance comes first. Some brands write times for their own lamp.
  • Wavelength range (nm), if the maker publishes it. Compare it with what your gel's instructions call for. Only one of the four lamps above publishes it.
  • Timer presets and any low-heat or ramped setting, so you can match the timer to your gel's own cure instructions, which vary by brand.
  • Fit: all five fingers or fingers-only, plus a removable base if you'll do feet.
  • Power: corded, rechargeable or USB, and whether the adapter or charger comes in the box.
  • Wattage: the maker's stated power draw, not a measure of UV output or cure speed. Nail lamp specs explained walks through what each number on the box means.

Wondering what the "UV," "LED" and "UV/LED" labels mean? That question has its own guide: UV vs LED nail lamps.

Gel lamps and UV exposure: what the research says

Gel lamps cure gel with ultraviolet light, and research on what that exposure means for skin is still limited. In a 2023 lab study published in Nature Communications, researchers exposed lab-grown human and mouse cells to a UV nail polish dryer and found DNA damage and mutations. The authors note that this isn't direct evidence of a higher cancer risk in people. A 2025 scoping review in the International Journal of Dermatology described the evidence on nail lamps and cancer as inconclusive and said a causal link hasn't been conclusively established.

This guide makes no claim about the UV exposure of any individual lamp.

How we chose these lamps

Every pick needed manufacturer documentation behind its key specs. The criteria were: whether a gel maker writes cure guidance for the lamp; a published wavelength; timer presets, including any low-heat or ramped setting; how the lamp starts (sensor or button); full-hand or fingers-only fit; a removable base for feet; the power source; and whether the maker publishes enough detail to check all of this. Sources were brand product pages, brand FAQs and spec charts, gel makers' instructions and Intertek's ETL directory, all checked Sep 30, 2026. Wattage wasn't used to choose or order the picks, because it measures power draw. No lamp was handled for this guide. For the full process, see how we research.

Starting from scratch rather than replacing a lamp? Our guide to gel nail kits that include a lamp covers that route.

Frequently asked questions

Can I use Gelish or OPI GELement gel with a different lamp?

Gelish's gel instructions give cure times for its 18G LED light, with longer times listed for a UV light, and OPI's GELement instructions call for curing in OPI's 4-finger GELement lamp. Using a different lamp means working outside the brand's own steps. If your gel gives generic "UV/LED lamp" cure times instead, follow those. Either way, the gel maker's instructions should decide the lamp.

Which of these lamps can I use for pedicures?

Three of the four. The SUNUV SUN2C has a removable magnetic base, and the Gelish 18G Plus and 18G Unplugged each have a removable magnetic tray, so a foot can go under the lamp once the base or tray is out. The OPI GELement lamp is fingers-only, with a 4-finger opening and no removable base.

Does the OPI GELement lamp fit my thumb?

Yes, but not at the same time as your fingers. It's a 4-finger lamp, and OPI's instructions have you cure four fingers first and then the thumb on its own, 60 seconds each, for every coat. That adds up to two cures per hand per coat. To cure all five fingers at once, choose one of the full-size lamps: the SUNUV SUN2C or either Gelish 18G model.

Can the battery in the Gelish 18G Unplugged be replaced?

Gelish says the lithium battery in the 18G Unplugged can be removed and replaced. Gelish doesn't publish the battery's capacity, runtime or charge time, and its online documentation doesn't list a replacement part, so contact Gelish or check the manual that comes with the lamp for replacement details.

Should I buy a lamp on its own or a gel kit that includes one?

If you already own gel, or your gel brand names a lamp, a stand-alone lamp lets you match the lamp to those instructions. If you are starting from scratch, a kit bundles a lamp with gels and basics in one purchase. Either way, check that the lamp suits the cure instructions of the gels you plan to use, and that it fits a full hand, or feet, if you need that.