Each of these gel nail kits for beginners comes with a lamp, gel and a few tools, but none of the three lists gel-removal supplies, and each one leaves out something else. This guide goes through the kits box by box, using each brand's own contents list, so you know what you'd still need before your first gel manicure at home.

Buying for someone else? For gift ideas, see gifts for nail lovers, sorted by skill level.

Quick picks

  • Most colors + hand-and-foot lamp: SUNUV SUN1 All-In-One Manicure Kit (View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)). Twelve colors, a base, a no-wipe top coat and a full-hand lamp whose base lifts out for feet. Missing: remover, foil or clips, and cleanser or wipes.
  • Brand-system pick (colors sold separately): OPI GELement Gel Essentials Kit (View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)). A base, a no-wipe top coat, a 4-finger lamp, prep pads and file/buffers. Missing: colors and every removal supply.
  • Guided pick with peel-off base option: Olive & June Gel Mani System (View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)). A 5-finger lamp, base, color, top, a peel-off base and what the brand calls an Acetone Remover Pot (for prep and clean-up, per Olive & June). Missing: gel-removal supplies beyond the peel-off base (the brand sells a soak-off kit separately).

What's missing from each box

A gel manicure needs supplies for three jobs: prepping the nail, applying and curing the gel, and taking it off later. All three kits cover the middle job. The gaps show up at the start and, above all, at the end, since none of the three lists gel-removal supplies. If you were hoping for a gel nail kit for beginners with everything included, none of these qualifies.

What's in each beginner gel kit, and what's missing
ItemSUNUV SUN1 kitOPI GELement EssentialsOlive & June Gel Mani System
LampFull hand; removable base for feet4 fingers, thumb separately5 fingers
Colors12None (sold separately)Varies by version
Base / topBase + no-wipe topBase + no-wipe topBase + top + peel-off base
Prep itemsFile, buffer100 prep pads, 5 file/buffersFile, buffer, clean-up brush, clipper, Acetone Remover Pot (brand: preps nails, helps with clean-up)
Gel-removal suppliesNot includedNot includedNone listed; peel-off base is the in-box route
Foil / clipsNot includedNot includedNot included (soak-off kit sold separately)
PowerCorded lamp (5 ft cable)USB cable; no wall charger listedUSB cord included; no USB wall adapter listed; brand states a minimum power-supply requirement
You'd still needRemover, foil or clips, cleanser or wipesColors, all removal supplies, maybe a USB wall chargerA soak-off kit (sold separately by the brand) unless you use the peel-off base (peeling applies only to that base); maybe a USB wall adapter
LinkView on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
Contents from each brand's published kit page; power details from brand lamp pages and instructions. Checked Sep 30, 2026. Cuticle tools are noted separately below.

SUNUV SUN1 kit. This one covers application well: 12 colors, a base, a no-wipe top coat and the lamp. What it leaves out is cleanup and removal. There's no remover, no foil or clips, and no cleanser or lint-free wipes, even though SUNUV's own online steps suggest washing hands or wiping nails with nail polish remover during prep. You'd still need remover and foil or clips to take the gel off later, plus a cleanser or wipes for prep.

OPI GELement Essentials. OPI's kit is the reverse: well stocked for prep, with prep pads and file/buffers, but with no color at all. OPI sells GELement shades separately, so the kit isn't ready for a full manicure until you add at least one. It has no removal supplies either. The lamp runs from the included USB cable, which OPI says plugs into a wall charger or a laptop. No wall charger is listed, so you may need a USB wall charger.

Olive & June Gel Mani System. This system has the longest contents list, including a peel-off base coat and what Olive & June calls an Acetone Remover Pot, which the brand positions for prep and clean-up. No gel-removal supplies are listed: the in-box removal route is the peel-off base, and Olive & June sells a soak-off kit separately. Peeling applies only to gel worn over the peel-off base, following Olive & June's instructions. The lamp comes with a USB cord, but no USB wall adapter is listed, so you may need one; Olive & June recommends a power supply of 15 W or higher.

Taking gel off is its own job, with its own tools; see how to remove gel polish at home. For everything else a first setup needs, use the full gel-at-home checklist.

Compare the kits side by side

This table lines up the seven things worth checking in any gel polish starter kit, from whether the cure guide names the included lamp to how tied the kit is to one brand. "Not confirmed" means a directory listing couldn't be confirmed for the exact lamp in the kit, and "not published" means the brand doesn't share it; neither is a finding about the product.

Beginner gel kits compared on what matters
KitCure guide names the included lamp?Lamp model / ETL listingLamp fitPowerGel-removal suppliesIngredient list published?Tied to one brand?Link
SUNUV SUN1 kitPartly: SUNUV says its gels are matched to the SUN1; one color step lists 90 s, longer than any single presetSUN1; listed in Intertek's ETL directoryFull hand; removable base for feetCorded (5 ft cable)NoneNot on kit page ("HEMA-free" label only)Kit gels and lamp are SUNUV's; no stated lock-inView on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
OPI GELement EssentialsYes: 60 s per layer in the GELement lampNot confirmed for the kit's lamp4 fingers; thumb separately; OPI doesn't mention use on feetUSB cable (wall charger or laptop); no wall charger listedNoneYes (base and top)Yes: OPI's steps are for GELement gel in this lampView on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
Olive & June Gel Mani SystemYes: short press (1 min) for base and top, long press (2 min) for colorNo model number published; not confirmed5 fingers; foot use not statedUSB cord included; no USB wall adapter listed; brand states a minimum power-supply requirementNone listed; peel-off base is the in-box route; brand positions its Acetone Remover Pot for prep and clean-upYes (brand site)Brand lists the lamp as compatible with its own gels; other brands not statedView on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
From manufacturer pages and Intertek's ETL directory, checked Sep 30, 2026. 'Not confirmed' means a directory listing couldn't be confirmed for the exact lamp in the kit; it isn't a finding about the product.

The best gel nail kits for beginners

Each card covers what's in the box, how the brand's steps fit the included lamp and what you'd still need to buy. The order isn't a ranking.

Most colors + hand-and-foot lamp

SUNUV SUN1 All-In-One Manicure Kit

Best for First-timers who want plenty of colors from day one and a lamp that also works for pedicures.

Key specs

  • SUN1 lamp (SUNUV also calls it the SUNone), 12 gel colors, a 15 mL base coat and a 15 mL no-wipe glossy top coat
  • 8 tools, including a file, buffer, clipper, toe separators and a brush (SUNUV lists it as a "brush cleaner" tool)
  • Lamp wavelengths of 365 and 405 nm, per SUNUV
  • Motion sensor starts the timer; presets of 5, 30 and 60 seconds
  • Mirrored base lifts out so the lamp can cure toes
  • Corded, with a 5-foot cable

For color, this is the most complete kit of the three: 12 shades plus a base and top coat, so a first manicure doesn't call for any extra gel. SUNUV says its gel range is matched to the SUN1 lamp. Intertek's ETL directory lists the SUN1 model as evaluated to two US standards for electric personal grooming appliances, UL 1727 (commercial) and UL 859 (checked Sep 30, 2026).

SUNUV's steps call for 30 seconds on the base coat and 60 seconds on the top coat, which line up with the presets, but they list 60 or 90 seconds for each color coat, and 90 seconds is longer than any single preset. The steps don't say how to time it, so follow the printed instructions that come in the box, or ask SUNUV. The colors carry a "HEMA-free" label, but SUNUV doesn't post a full ingredient list on the kit page. Removal and prep-cleanup supplies are a separate purchase. Check the product label and instructions for age and use restrictions before use.

Pros

  • Most colors of the three (12), plus a base and top coat
  • Full-hand lamp with a removable base for feet
  • The only lamp of the three with published wavelengths
  • Motion sensor and three simple presets
  • Lamp model listed in Intertek's ETL directory

Cons

  • No remover, cleanser or wipes
  • One color step lists 90 seconds, longer than any single preset
  • No full ingredient list on the kit page
  • Includes cuticle tools; the AAD advises leaving cuticles alone

Brand-system pick (colors sold separately)

OPI GELement Gel Essentials Kit

Best for Beginners who plan to use OPI GELement shades and want cure steps written for the exact lamp in the box.

Key specs

  • GELement base coat and no-wipe top coat; no colors (shades sold separately)
  • GELement LED gel lamp: four fingers at a time, with the thumb cured separately
  • One automatic 60-second cure cycle
  • Mirrored interior; OPI describes the lamp as acetone-resistant
  • Prep pads and 5 file/buffers
  • Powered through the included USB cable; no wall charger listed

OPI writes its steps around this lamp: each layer cures for 60 seconds with four fingers in the lamp, then 60 seconds for the thumb. That takes the guesswork out of timing, as long as you stay with OPI's GELement gels. OPI publishes full ingredient lists for the base and top coat on the kit page, and its GELiversity video series on YouTube covers prep, application and removal.

The trade-offs are practical. With no colors in the box, the kit isn't ready for a full manicure until you add at least one GELement shade. The 4-finger opening means two cure cycles per hand for every layer, and OPI doesn't mention use on feet. OPI says the USB cable plugs into a wall charger or a laptop, but no charger is listed, so you may need a USB wall charger. There are no removal supplies either. Check the product label and instructions for age and use restrictions before use.

Pros

  • Cure steps written for the exact lamp in the box
  • Prep pads and file/buffers included
  • Full ingredient lists published for the base and top coat
  • Part of OPI's GELement system, with video tutorials

Cons

  • No colors in the box
  • No removal supplies
  • 4-finger lamp, so a separate thumb cure for every layer
  • OPI doesn't mention use on feet
  • No wall charger listed
  • Includes cuticle pushers; the AAD advises against pushing cuticles back

Guided pick with peel-off base option

Olive & June Gel Mani System

Best for Beginners who want a guided, single-brand system and like the option of a peel-off base coat.

Key specs

  • 5-finger LED lamp with one button: a short press runs 1 minute, a long press 2 minutes
  • Gel base coat, gel color, gel top coat and a peel-off base coat
  • File, buffer, nail clipper, clean-up brush and a bottle handle for painting
  • Cuticle serum
  • What Olive & June calls an Acetone Remover Pot, which the brand says preps nails and helps with clean-up
  • USB cord included; no USB wall adapter listed; the brand states a minimum power-supply requirement

Olive & June builds its steps around its own lamp: a short press for the base and top coats and a long press for each color coat. Olive & June lists the lamp as compatible with its own gel polishes, base coats and top coats, but doesn't mention other brands. The peel-off base coat is the main difference from the other two kits; Olive & June presents it as an alternative to soaking gel off with acetone.

That option covers only gel worn over the peel-off base, removed as Olive & June's instructions describe. For regular gel, the AAD advises against picking at the polish; without the peel-off base, Olive & June points to a soak-off kit it sells separately. A USB cord is included, but no USB wall adapter is listed, so you may need one that meets the brand's power-supply recommendation. Check the product label and instructions for age and use restrictions before use.

Pros

  • Peel-off base coat option
  • Includes what the brand calls an Acetone Remover Pot (for prep and clean-up, per Olive & June)
  • 5-finger lamp, so no separate thumb step
  • One-button settings that match the brand's steps
  • Ingredient lists published on the brand site

Cons

  • No lamp model number or directory listing
  • No USB wall adapter listed
  • No gel-removal supplies listed beyond the peel-off base; soak-off kit sold separately
  • Number of colors varies by version
  • Longest single cure cycle of the three (2 minutes per color coat)
  • Includes a cuticle pusher and cuticle remover; the AAD advises leaving cuticles alone

Check the cure guide against the lamp in the box

The lamp in a gel nail kit with UV light, meaning a kit that comes with its own UV/LED lamp, only helps if the gel's instructions fit it. First, does the cure guide name the lamp in the box? OPI and Olive & June write their steps for their own lamps, while SUNUV pairs its gels with the SUN1 but lists one color time that no single preset matches. Second, fit: four fingers plus a separate thumb step (OPI), five fingers (Olive & June), or a full hand with a base that lifts out for feet (SUN1). Third, power: the SUN1 is corded, OPI's USB cable may need a USB wall charger, and Olive & June's USB cord may need a USB wall adapter. Whatever the kit, follow the cure times printed for its gels, which vary by brand. If a coat still feels tacky after the full time, see gel that's still sticky after curing.

Want a lamp on its own? See best UV/LED nail lamps, and nail lamp specs explained for what the numbers on the box mean. For lamp UV exposure, see what the research says about gel lamps and UV.

Ingredient lists and "HEMA-free" labels

Looking for a HEMA-free gel nail kit? The labels are all you have to go on, and the brands share different amounts of detail. OPI publishes full ingredient lists for its GELement base and top coat on the kit page. Olive & June posts ingredient lists on its gel product pages, such as its gel base coat, and labels its gel "HEMA-free," which it defines as formulated without hydroxyethyl methacrylate, and "15-free," meaning made without 15 ingredients it names. SUNUV labels its kit colors "HEMA-free" but doesn't post a full ingredient list on the kit page. These are the brands' own label claims, and this guide doesn't assess them. If you're checking for a specific ingredient, read each product's full list, and ask SUNUV for its list.

How we chose these kits

Each pick had to include a lamp, gel and tools, with a contents list published by the brand. The seven criteria were: whether the cure guide names the included lamp; whether the lamp's model or a directory listing can be confirmed; lamp fit for fingers, thumbs and feet; the power source and adapter; removal supplies in the box; whether ingredient lists are published; and how tied the kit is to one brand's system. Sources were brand kit and lamp pages, brand instructions and Intertek's ETL directory, all checked Sep 30, 2026. No kit was handled or tested for this guide, and wattage wasn't used to choose or order the picks. For the full process, see how we research.

Frequently asked questions

Does any beginner gel nail kit include everything you need?

Not among these three. The SUNUV SUN1 kit has no remover, foil, clips, cleanser or wipes. The OPI GELement kit has no colors and no removal supplies. Olive & June's system lists no gel-removal supplies; its in-box removal route is the peel-off base, and the brand sells a soak-off kit separately.

Do any of these gel kits include gel-removal supplies?

None of the three kits lists gel-removal supplies. Olive & June includes what it calls an Acetone Remover Pot, which the brand positions for prep and clean-up; its in-box removal route is the peel-off base, and the brand sells a soak-off kit separately. Peeling applies only to gel worn over that base, following Olive & June's instructions. The SUNUV and OPI kits include no removal supplies.

Do I need to buy colors for the OPI GELement kit?

Yes. The OPI GELement Gel Essentials Kit includes a base coat, a no-wipe top coat, the lamp, prep pads and file/buffers, but no colors. OPI sells GELement shades separately, so add at least one shade to the same order if you want to do a full manicure when the kit arrives.

Can I use these kits for pedicures?

The SUNUV SUN1 kit is the one set up for it: the lamp's mirrored base lifts out so the lamp can sit over toes. OPI says its GELement lamp is designed to cure four nails at a time, with the thumb cured separately, and doesn't mention use on feet. Olive & June doesn't say whether its 5-finger lamp works for feet either, so check with the brand before planning pedicures.

Do these kits need a separate power adapter?

The SUN1 lamp is corded, with a 5-foot cable. OPI includes a USB cable, which it says plugs into a USB wall charger or a laptop, but lists no charger. Olive & June includes a USB cord but lists no USB wall adapter, so you may need one; Olive & June recommends a power supply of 15 W or higher.